Worthy of the Calling

“Remember, you are an ambassador of our family.”

I can’t count the number of times I heard this statement growing up.  My parents would say this as I left to go to a friend’s house most often, but they would also throw it in there pretty much any time they wanted me to be on my best behavior and they weren’t going to be around to monitor it.  In fact, I literally, just heard this phrase come out of my mother’s mouth last Sunday as I was walking into a restaurant to meet up with my in laws.  I was in a bad mood and not thrilled to be spending my afternoon at a legit Chinese restaurant (I’m a VERY picky eater) rather than at the beach like I had planned, and my mom said, “Put a smile on your face; get it together.  Remember, you are my ambassador.”

I hated the phrase as a child and I hate it as an adult.  Ever since our 13 year old moved in with us, I find myself saying so many things I swore I would never say to my own kids, but I haven’t said the ambassador line.  I remember feeling the pressure as a child.  It felt that if I messed up, I would inadvertently bring my family down with me, even if my mistake had nothing to do with my family.  Granted, we lived in a small(ish) community and most people knew everybody’s business, but it was so much pressure to feel like I had to represent my family with my behavior.  My behavior, my mistakes, my successes, my, my, my… they all should have been mine, not my family’s.  When I heard the phrase earlier this week, I thought to myself, “Not anymore!  I’m an adult, with my own family… I represent ME!”

Do I really represent me though?  In Ephesians, Paul tells me that I don’t.  Paul reminds me that I represent Christ.  He encourages me to live a life worthy of the calling I have received.  In this verse, Paul tells me that I am Christ’s ambassador; I am responsible for representing Christ.

The pressure I felt when my parents reminded me that my successes and failures reflected directly on them wasn’t motivating as a child.  It felt like an overwhelming burden that I should not have had to carry.  So, why does Christ ask me to carry his burden in this same way?

Maybe it has to do with how and where the burden is placed.  For some reason, I don’t view my responsibility of being Christ’s ambassador as daunting of a task as I did being my family’s ambassador.  I think it is because Christ doesn’t place the burden on me.  He loves me and teaches me and gently leads me.  He doesn’t send me out to the wolves and say, “go get ’em tiger!”  He goes WITH me and when He expects me to represent Him, He tells me that His grace is enough.

I fail EVERY day at being love to the world.  I am judgmental and prideful and stubborn.  I have prejudices that are so ingrained in me that sometimes I don’t even recognize them.  I’m busy and don’t make time for people.  I, I, I… I could go on and on.  But that is the thing, it isn’t about me and my failures!  When I commit my life to Christ and when I focus myself on Him first thing in the morning and as often as needed throughout the day, I fade into the background and Christ shines through.  Being Christ’s ambassador isn’t a burden because He steps in when I fail and reveals Himself in both my successes and failures.

So, my friends, here’s your challenge.  Are you willing to allow love to be who you are?  Are you willing to fade into the background so that Christ can represent Himself through you, to let the Light shine though?  Are you willing to live a life worthy of the calling?  It is tough and it may seem overwhelming, but remember that He isn’t expecting perfection… He simply asks to be in front.  My parents put me out in front when they reminded me of my role as an ambassador, but Christ doesn’t do that.  He requests that you represent Him and then says, “and I’ll lead the way… I’ll put myself in front, if you let me.”  So let Him.  The task is much easier to endure when we allow ourselves to take a step back and allow Him to lead the way.

Live Like That- Sidewalk Prophets

Sometimes I think
What will people say of me
When I’m only just a memory
When I’m home where my soul belongs

Was I love
When no one else would show up
Was I Jesus to the least of those
Was my worship more than just a song

I want to live like that
And give it all I have
So that everything I say and do
Points to You

If love is who I am
Then this is where I’ll stand
Recklessly abandoned
Never holding back

I want to live like that
I want to live like that

Am I proof
That You are who you say You are
That grace can really change a heart
Do I live like Your love is true

People pass
And even if they don’t know my name
Is there evidence that I’ve been changed
When they see me, do they see You

I want to live like that
And give it all I have
So that everything I say and do
Points to You

If love is who I am
Then this is where I’ll stand
Recklessly abandoned
Never holding back

I want to live like that
I want to live like that

I want to show the world the love You gave for me
I’m longing for the world to know the glory of the King

I want to live like that
And give it all I have
So that everything I say and do
Points to You

If love is who I am
Then this is where I’ll stand
Recklessly abandoned
Never holding back

I want to live like that
I want to live like that

One thought on “Worthy of the Calling

  1. Love!! We are so effective when we step back and follow His lead. If only the “I’s” and “Me’s” would go away … Great post!

Leave a Reply

